A person before engaging in any business within the City must make application to the Tax & License Division for a City Business License and pay the applicable license fee. This requirement includes businesses within the municipal limits of Glendale, and those who may be physically located outside of the City limits but enter the City to conduct business or perform services. If the business is required to collect Transaction Privilege Sales Tax, the tax number is required on the application for a business license. A Transaction Privilege Sales Tax License is obtained with the Arizona Department of Revenue.
It is unlawful for any person to engage in any business for which a City Business License is required without having first obtained such license. If payment of the license fee is not received in our office within 30 days of the start of business, you must pay the delinquent license penalty in addition to the Business License fee.
A separate City Business License and applicable fees are required for each location of a business and for each type of business, occupation or profession carried on at a particular location by a licensee.
Persons who engage in the business activity of leasing, renting or licensing their residential rental property are not required to obtain a Glendale Business License. However, a Transaction Privilege Sales Tax license is required through
Arizona Department of Revenue.
Persons who are participants of an Open-Air Market or Park-N-Swap are not required to obtain a Glendale Business License if the operator of the Open-Air Market or Park-N-Swap has a current operator’s license pursuant to
City Code, Chapter 21, Article V. However, a Transaction Privilege Sales Tax license is required through
Arizona Department of Revenue.
Fees and Penalties:
The Business License fee is currently $25. If payment of the license fee is not received in our office within 30 days of the start of business, you must pay the delinquent license penalty in addition to the Business License fee. The current delinquent license penalty is $12.50.
Annual Renewal Requirements:
Any City Business License is valid only for the calendar year in which it is issued. Each such City Business License expires on December 31 of each year and must be renewed annually. The City will automatically bill the annual license renewal fee unless you request a cancellation of your City Business License. The renewal fee of $25 must be received by the Tax & License Division by the last business day in January of each year.
According to the Legal Arizona Workers Act (A.R.S. 41-1080), a license eligibility form is required to issue a license if your business ownership type is identified as an Individual, Sole Proprietorship, or Husband and Wife business. Before your license can be approved, you must provide a copy of a document indicating your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law (if applying as Husband and Wife, both individuals must provide documentation). After you have completed the form, return it along with the applicable business license application for your type of business.
Timeline for Internal Processing:
For information on the time frames of an application submitted to the City for obtaining a license, click here.